Incredible Finalists in Hasselblad Masters Awards 2012

Out of all the photography competitions out there, the Hasselblad Masters Awards is easily one of the most prestigious. To show you just how serious it is, Chris Russell-Fish Hasselblad UK MD and global sales and marketing director said: “The Masters is a celebrated and highly influential photographic competition. It can change lives and careers. Claudio Napolitano, who became a Hasselblad Master in the portrait category two years ago, described his win as a ‘life changing moment – like winning a Nobel Prize.’ There is no doubt that to win at this level means you have proved yourself to be a very talented, very special photographer.”

The 2012 finalists have recently been announced. Out of the 2,500 applications, the field has narrowed down to 110. You can now view all of them online. This year, Hasselblad is asking the public to get involved. Open until October 31, 2011, you’ll get to view and vote on your favorites across 11 different categories including Architecture, Editorial and Wildlife.

Winners will be announced in January 2012. They’ll receive not only worldwide recognition but a chapter in the famous Hasselblad Masters Book, and will have their work featured in exhibits around the world.

Check out all of the Masters Finalists here or see 25 of our favorites below.

Andre Koenig


Jonathan Leijonhufvud

Frank Meyl
Kristine Mengel
Fashion and Beauty
Wai Kuen Eric Wong
Cyril Lagel
Ken Hermann
Cem Turgay
Antti Vitala
Alexia Sinclair
Aung Pyae Soe
Baljit Singh Deo
Niels Van Iperen
Mario Macilau
Landscape and Nature
Tom D. Jones
Alan M. Gardner
Michael Anderson
Lars Van de Goor
Eoghan Kavanagh
Dilip Bhatia

Massimo Gammacurta
Mike Ahmad
Dina Bova
Lennette Newell
Joachim Schmeisser
Michael Kennedy


Hasselblad website